Lord Shiva Temple in India

Shiva meaning “The Auspicious One” is one of the main deities of Hinduism. He is also known as many different names as Maha Deva (“Great God”), Shankar, Bhole Nath, Lord Shiva. He is regarded as supreme God and is one of the main deities of Hinduism. Lord Shiva is the destructive form of the Almighty following other two members being Lord Brahma – the creator and Lord Vishnu – the protector. He is depicted as an omniscient Yogi who lives an ascetic life on Mount Kailash, as well as a householder with wife Parvati and his two children, Lord Ganesha and Lord Kartikeya. Lord Shiva is often shown with many faces, as creator, destroyer and preserver of the cosmos and maintains its life cycle.

Lord Shiva Lingam

The word Lingam is a Sanskrit word and it means a sign or a symbol and is a male creative energy of Shiva. The Shivalinga is regarded as a “symbol of the great God of the universe who is all-auspiciousness. Siva Linga is considered a very holy symbol and is worshipped in Hinduism. It is tradition to worship Lingam by pouring Gange water or milk on Shiv Lingam. It is considered as the positive flow of energy and It is the symbolic offering of ourselves to God. So when a devotee bathes Shiv Lingam with milk, he accepts the flow of positive energy.


A Jyotirlinga or Jyotirling or Jyotirlingam (Sanskrit), (Devnagari) is a devotional object representing the god Shiva. Jyoti means ‘radiance’ and lingam the ‘mark or sign’ of Shiva, or a symbol of the pineal gland; Jyotir Lingam thus means the The Radiant sign of The Almighty. There are twelve traditional Jyotirlinga shrines or Lord Shiva Temple in India. These are :-

1. Shri Somnath
2. Shri Mallikarjuna
3. Shri Mahakaleshwar
4. Shri Omkareshwar
5. Shri Kedarnath
6. Shri Bhimashankar
7. Shri Kashi Vishwanath
8. Shri Trimbakeshwar Shiva
9. Shri Baba Baidyanath
10. Shri Nagesh Jyotirlinga
11. Shri Rameshwaram
12. Shri Grishneshwar